Academy for Modding Excellence
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
  Home    Forum    Help    Search    Login    Register  

Players & Builders of NWN & NWN2 needed to join the AME panel
August 08, 2020, 09:17:29 AM
+  Academy for Modding Excellence
|-+  Academy of Modding Excellence Public Forums
| |-+  Academy for Modding Excellence News
| | |-+  The 2009 Cycle for the Golden Dragon Awards Has Started
Advanced search
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages 1 Go Down
Topic: The 2009 Cycle for the Golden Dragon Awards Has Started  (Read 4646 times)
« on: January 15, 2010, 01:15:01 PM »
Tybae Offline
AME Whippinig Boy
Platinum Dragon
Devourer of Worlds, Lover of Kittens Posts: 2010

Greetings folks.  We have officially started our new cycle for Golden Dragon Awards.  We have made a few changes to the awards this year that will be beneficial to everyone.  Some of the changes include:
  • Veteran Award has been modified to include extensive updates to current releases. 
  • We have changed the award system to reflect 2 types of categories.  Core and Non-Core. 
  • We have added an International Recognition Award
  • We have added a new position in the AME Ranks.  Dragon Age Leader

We have added the stipulation that extensive updating to existing modules will qualify an author for Veteran Author Award only.  With the release of new CEP versions and 1.69, it only seemed fitting that we include that stipulation, but it only works for the Veteran Author Award.  As far as what constitutes an "extensive update", that will be dealt with on a case by case basis. 

The Core and Non-Core categories were chosen by popular vote by the AME members.  This is an effort to scale back the awards a bit to lighten the workload onto an already overworked team.  What the process does is that the Core awards are the awards that we will definitely be giving awards for and are the priority when we do our nomination and voting process.  The Non-Core awards are "gravy" awards.  That is, if we have enough participation in the non-core awards, we will hand out an award for the said category.  Again, this is an attempt to scale back the workload on our team.  We decided to let participation dictate what awards we hand out this year.  This is in light of the fact that we had very little participation in last year's award cycle for NWN2 and had to push back the deadlines several times for NWN2.

Adding an International Recognition Award is also one of the Non-Core categories.  This is entirely based on the spoken languages of the current group.  Right now, we can't break down the international awards into specific categories, like French, Spanish, German, etc.  We do not have enough people that speak enough languages to break them down that much.  Instead, we are adding 1 International Recognition Award to be given in NWN1 and NWN2 separately.  Also, this being a non-core category, it will be based on participation.  On a personal level, I think that this is long overdue.  It is important that we recognize the fact that these games are not only offered in English, but several other languages too and the work is equally as good. 

As most of you know, Andarian has stepped down as Chairman of the AME and taken the position of Dragon Age Leader.  He will be doing research, playtesting and other general research on Dragon Age and advise the AME as to the best way to handle the Dragon Age game.  It is our intention to offer awards for Dragon Age, but not until next year, as it is a new game and there is not enough content to justify awards at this time.  We did exactly the same thing with NWN2. 

So please stay tuned for news and other items regarding the 2009. 

Also, if you are interested in joining the AME and helping us provide more awards to the community, please let me know and I will start the ball rolling.  It typically takes a week to get membership approved as we run all interested new members by the team for approval.  The process is just a formality.  To my knowledge, no one has been denied membership.  The requirements are that you nominate and participate in 4 different categories that can be split up however you wish between NWN1 and/or NWN2. 

Edit:  This post has been changed to reflect a recent vote by the AME members.  Veteran Author Award will stay as Veteran Author and not be changed to Lifetime Acheivement. 
« Last Edit: January 21, 2010, 10:45:50 AM by Tybae » Logged

I live by the motto:  "Safety 3rd"
Print  Pages 1 Go Up
« previous next »
Jump to: